Formation of the Federation of Malaysia

Standard

The Federation of Malaysia was formed on 16 September 1963. So, what was the story behind its formation, in particular what were Sabah’s and Sarawak’s experience? Sharing here some of the doodles that I did for my children about the formation of Malaysia. 🙂

Sabah and Sarawak were informed of the intention to form a federation in 1961 by Tunku Abdul Rahman in Kuching.

(The first political party for North Borneo that is!)

The Registrar of Societies must have been extremely busy then!!

All men folks doing the negotiations…Why no women representative oh?

You can find out more about the Cobbold Commission here! Phew… this topic is a bit dry isn’t it? Yawnn…. I need my spectacles to read the Cobbold Commission report…. 😛

Ooohhh… the table is so big! I wonder if they can hear each other?…..

Is the 20 points an agreement or just a memorandum or merely a political manifesto? That is the question! Hmmm….. (*48 years later.. still thinking and asking the same question*)

Too much to remember in one day! I want to take a break and read a different kind of history… the ones involving pirates! Adventures! Treasure hunt! Kings and Queens!

About doodlinghistory

I love history but it can get so difficult to remember or understand the stories. So I doodle while I read. Sharing with you the doodles that I did. Hope you enjoy looking at my doodles and learn something about history at the same time. Oh, by the way, I am based in Borneo so most of the historical stuff I read are Borneo, Malaysia, Asia history. Enjoy! and Welcome!

2 responses »

  1. Excellent work! Love it. …some points to note though-Cobbold Commission had not a single Borneon on its panel. Thousands were against joining Malaysia but their protests were played down for political reasons by the authorities.

Leave a comment